Poe: Nevermore

by Rachel M. Martens

"Nevermore," the first in a six-book series, is told by Elenora Allison Poe, or “Poe” for short. Poe is twenty-four years old, drowning in debt and depression, and very alone, having been orphaned at the age of two and raised in an unloving household. Suffering from insomnia and PTSD from a traumatic experience seven years before, Poe has become cold and unwilling to connect with anyone. When she meets homicide detective Caleb Frost, Poe’s life changes dramatically. Frost sees the tragic heroine’s brokenness in perfect clarity and sympathizes with her, but just when Poe begins to let him in she discovers a horrible truth: she is the sole direct descendant of Edgar Allan Poe, inheriting not only the last name of one of the world's most famous poets, but also a terrible family curse that takes the form of the master of the macabre's most haunting tales. If Poe cannot recognize the curse unfolding in time, it will destroy the lives of all those close to her and annihilate her sanity.

Get your free review copy by clicking the download link to the left.

For Fans Of

  • Edgar Allan Poe
  • Stephen King
  • Karin Slaughter
  • Stieg Larsson
  • Anne Rice
  • classic Gothic literature

About the Author

Rachel M. Martens is the writer of the "Poe" thriller series, including "Poe: Nevermore"(2013) and "Poe: Rest in Peace"(2014). She also specializes in horror flash fiction and short stories and occasionally writes poetry. She graduated Magna Cum Laude with a BA in English from St. Norbert College and is a former participant in the Young Writers Conference hosted by the Poe Museum in Richmond, Virginia. She has traveled extensively in the US and the UK and currently resides in Wisconsin.

Connect with the Author